Montlhy Diary Events this Week Sessions Folk Clubs Festivals
Bands Solo Artists Musicians Wanted Musicians Available Callers
Resources Morris Dance For sale Crabshell Records News
Site map Contact FlaxeyGreen  

July

search tips advanced search

IMPORTANT 
Although every care is taken in the presentation of information contained on this web site FlaxeyGreen
cannot be held accountable for any inaccurate information supplied, or any programme changes made, after the information has been published.
I advise that you contact the organiser of the event prior to travel. FlaxeyGreen can not be held responsible for any expenses or losses incurred. Please inform FlaxeyGreen of any errors found on this site. 
Page last updated on 16-11-2017
For events in other months select month from drop down box
Sunday 1 July
 
Regular events 1st Sunday
Monday 2 July
 
Regular events 1st Monday
Tuesday 3 July
 
Regular events 1st Tuesday
DANCE - Isca Allemanders Square Dance Club
DANCE - Fraddon Folk Dance Club (Cornwall)
Wednesday 4 July
 
Regular events 1st Wednesday
DANCE - Gittisham Folk Dance Club - Stick the Fiddle - Colin Andrews
Thursday 5 July
 
Friday 6 July
 
Saturday 7 July
DANCE - Willand Folk Dance Club -  Aileen Wills - Quantock Quareders  - Willand Village Hall, Gables Road, Willand, Cullompton, Devon EX15 2PL - 8.00pm - Admission £8.00 - bring and share supper - raffle. For more information please telephone Marilyn Broom 01404 47200 or Zena Roberts 01884 253546 - or visit website
Sunday 8 July
 
Regular events 2nd Sunday
SONG - Folk on the Moor - Book by email
Monday 9 July
 
Regular events 2nd Monday
STORYTELLING - South Devon Storytellers
Tuesday 10 July
 
Regular events 2nd Tuesday
DANCE - Isca Allemanders Square Dance Club
Wednesday 11 July
 
Regular events 2nd Wednesday
DANCE - Gittisham Folk Dance Club - Fresh Aire - Aileen Wills
Thursday 12 July
 
Friday 13 July
 
Saturday 14 July
 
Regular events 2nd Saturday
SONG - Open night Shammick Acoustic - With featured performers Martin & Shan Graebe. Specialists in the collecting of Sabine Baring-Gould but Martin is an acclaimed songwriter in his own right too.
Sunday 15 July
 
Regular events 3rd Sunday
Monday 16 July
 
Regular events 3rd Monday
Tuesday 17 July
 
Wednesday 18 July
 
Regular events 3rd Wednesday
DANCE - Gittisham Folk Dance Club - Bridgewater Band - Robert Blackborow   
Thursday 19 July
 
Friday 20 July
 
Saturday 21 July
 
Sunday 22 July
 
Regular events 4th Sunday
SONG - Folk on the Moor Book by email
Monday 23 July
 
Regular events 4th Monday
Tuesday 24 July
 
Regular events 4th Tuesday
DANCE - Isca Allemanders Square Dance Club
Wednesday 25 July

Regular events 4th Wednesday
DANCE - Gittisham Folk Dance Club - Jigs for Gigs - Monty Crook       
Thursday 26 July
 
Regular events 4th Thursday
DANCE - Crewkerne Folk Dance Club (Somerset)
DANCE - Newton Poppleford American Square Dance Basic and Mainstream levels
SONG - Teignmouth Folk Club - A week early this month due to the carnival procession
Friday 27 July
 
Saturday 28 July
 
Regular events 4th Saturday

SONG - Shammick Acoustic - Tim Edey  
How can one man be a virtuoso musician on two such different instruments?  Tim Edey is – on both guitar and melodeon he is quite exceptional.  Originally from Kent but of Irish descent, Tim honed his style of playing by shutting himself away in his bedroom, listening to his musical heroes, and practicing until he could make the same sounds as they did – and then exceeded them!  He has toured the world and recorded with most of the major names in Celtic/contemporary roots music, including The Chieftains, Christy Moore, Sharon Shannon, Natalie MacMaster, Stockton’s Wing, Dougie MacLean and Mary Black, to name just a few!  He’s now a name on the world stage in his own right, and is rated by many to be one of the world’s finest ever melodeon and guitar players, with a personality to match.  An evening with Tim is a stunning mix of world music-inspired instrumental virtuosity and passion with a strong Celtic theme, plus chorus songs for an audience to partake in, and above all, a highly entertaining night of musical genius.  

 

Admission on guest nights £8.00 (£7.00 if bought in advance) ~ and members of Shammick Acoustic get a further reduction, priced at £7.00 (£6.00 if bought in advance). PLEASE NOTE: ‘paid in advance’ means paid, it doesn’t mean ‘reserved in advance’. Advance tickets can be bought up to a month before the event at Shammick Acoustic Sessions, OR at The Pack O’ Cards OR at Pet's Pantry in Combe Martin High Street. Advance tickets for non-members, can also be purchased by going to WeGotTickets
Sunday 29 July
 
Regular events 5th Sunday
Monday 30 July
 
Regular events 5th Monday
Tuesday 31 July
 
Regular events 5th Tuesday
DANCE - Isca Allemanders Square Dance Club